Central’s annual Scholarship Celebration was scheduled for Thursday, April 22, but was canceled because of the coronavirus pandemic. The event gives student scholarship recipients the opportunity to personally thank and share dinner with donors, who help make their Central education possible.

More than 800 students would have been recognized this year in P.H. Kuyper Gymnasium, including:

Katie Banowetz, of Grand Mound, who received the Oliver Karlis Molenaar Scholarship;

Taryn Sikkema, of DeWitt, who received the William and Lucille D. Schalekamp Scholarship;

Morgan Stockman, of DeWitt, who received the Peter G. and Norma L. Gaass Endowed Scholarship;

William DeHaan, of DeWitt, who received the US Bank Scholarship and the Joseph L. and Marjorie E. Petz Scholarship;

Jacob Brainerd, of DeWitt, who received the Journey Scholarship, in memory of Logan Andeweg.


Illinois Central College agriculture students showcased their knowledge and skills in the 2021 Professional Agricultural Students (PAS) State Conference held virtually in February.

Collectively, the ICC students earned 11 first-place honors, seven second-place honors and one fourth-place. A total of 31 ICC students competed in job interview and agriculture team competitions, in which three-member teams were scored on written tests, problem-solving and a team presentation. 

The seven different team competitions included the specializations of crops, soils, precision agriculture, beef, sheep, swine and overall livestock. For the job interview competition, students were scored on a mock interview, resume and cover letter.

Carson Deppe, of DeWitt, was a member of the Beef Overall Team, which earned second-place honors.


Black Hawk College’s Quad Cities Campus, in Moline, Illinois, has released the names of its spring 2021 graduates.

Included on the list is Kaneisha Gayles, of DeWitt.


Morgan Stockman, of DeWitt, is one of 13 Central College who will present at the 47th-annual Psycholog Research Symposium Thursday, May 6.

Stockman’s presentation is titled, “Attribution of Responsibility: Help-Seeking, Socioeconomic Status & SUDs.”


Rachel Green, of DeWitt, was one of 17 Wartburg College students honored by the Iowa Broadcast News Association at its annual conference.

Green earned third place in the In-Depth/Series for Student TV for “Student Elections.”

Wartburg College’s Knight Vision also won third place in Overall Excellence for Student TV from the Iowa Broadcast News Association.

The contest recognizes outstanding radio and TV entries across the state for entries broadcast in 2020 during the organization’s annual conference.


The 74th commencement ceremony of Clinton Community College was held Thursday, May 13, 2021. There were 189 students who applied for graduation. Six students achieved high honors and 56 achieved honors. 

Special red and gold cords were worn by the high honor students, gold cords were worn by honor students and members of the military wear special red, white and blue recognition cords. Members of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society wear a gold stole and honor cords.

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the ceremony was held virtually.

Graduates from the area include:

Andover: Keaton Lane Bormann, Tayler Marie Ehlinger

  Bryant: Ashley Joy Camp, Anthony Taplin

Calamus: Carter Robert Dwyer, Avery Lynn Snyder, Lauren Lee Von Muenster

Charlotte: Jacob Peter Madsen

Delmar: Caleb J. Beck, William P. Caes, Lee T. Cain, Kelli Mary Grell, Noah D. Ruchotzke

DeWitt: Emily Drew Boomershine, Isaac Michael Frett, Haley Lynn Huebner, Brandon J. Jansen, Mollie Jo McColloh, Courtney Brianne Miller, Jared Thomas Payne, Tim Thornburg, Ethan Corey Michael Wilkins, Emma Elizabeth Zimmerman

Goose Lake: Chavez David Boehmer-Diedrich, Keenan Layne Bredekamp, Damika Raeann Ross

Lost Nation: Gabriel G. Gardner

Toronto: Kiah Adelia Widel

Wheatland: Kaylie Lyn Wilhelm, Megan Lynn Wirtjes