After Tuesday’s primary election, the four-person race for Clinton County Sheriff was trimmed down to two.

Unofficially, Clinton Deputy Police Chief Bill Greenwalt won the Republican nomination by earning 2,167 total votes. Goose Lake resident and current sheriff’s deputy Allan Soenksen finished second after earning 816 total votes, and lifetime law enforcement professional Danny Thomas finished third with 711 total votes. Forty-eight write-in votes were also logged.

Current Clinton County Chief Deputy Steve Diesch was unopposed on the Democrat ticket and will face Greenwalt in the general election Nov. 3. On the Democratic ticket, 324 write-in votes for sheriff were tallied as well.

Greenwalt and Diesch are running to replace longtime Clinton County Sheriff Rick Lincoln, a Democrat, who will retire at the end of his term.

The unofficial precinct-by-precinct vote tally for the Republican sheriff nominee was:

Absentee: Greenwalt 2,167; Soenksen 816; Thomas 711.

Calamus-Wheatland High School: Greenwalt 27; Soenksen 64; Thomas 20.

Camanche High School: Greenwalt 109; Soenksen 21; Thomas 19.

Central DeWitt High School: Greenwalt 112; Soenksen 78; Thomas 57.

Eagle Heights Elementary (Clinton): Greenwalt 238; Soenksen 47; Thomas 44.

Jefferson Elementary School (Clinton): Greenwalt 124; Soenksen 12; Thomas 39.

In the race for the U.S. House of Representatives, five Republicans ran for the right to face uncontested Democrat —  and rural Wheatland native — Rita Hart for Iowa’s second congressional district. Democrat Dave Loebsack currently holds the seat, but will retire at the end of his term.

Unofficially, Mariannette Miller-Meeks earned the Republican nomination in that race, but Bobby Schilling carried Clinton County with 1,725 votes. Miller-Meeks was second with 1,089 tallies. Steven Everly, Tom Borchardt and Rick Phillips all tallied less than 200 votes apiece in the county.  Schilling finished second overall in the district-wide vote.

A U.S. Senate seat is also open, as Joni Ernst’s term is ending. She is running as the only Republican on the ticket. Five Democrat candidates ran to be her opponent in November’s General Election. Of those, the Associated Press early on Tuesday night predicted Theresa Greenfield had won the nomination. Greenfield won favor in Clinton County with 2,256 total votes; Michael Franken came in second with in-county 472, Kimberly Graham third with 439, Eddie Mauro fourth with 350, and Cal Woods fifth with 79.

Unopposed candidates on the primary ballot included: Clinton County Auditor Eric Van Lancker; Clinton County Supervisor Tom Determann a Republican, and his Democratic opponent Mike Brown; Iowa Rep. Mary Wolfe, D-Clinton, and her General Election opponent Joma Short; Rep. Norlin Mommsen, R-DeWitt, and his opponent in November, Ryan Zeskey.